system, is staffed and operated by the force. Law enforcement agencies throughout Canada have access via a series of remote terminals to information on stolen vehicles, licences, and wanted persons.

The RCMP operates the Canadian Police College at which force members and selected representatives of other Canadian and foreign police forces may study the latest advances in

the fields of crime prevention and detection.

As at March 31, 1972 the force had a total strength of 13,726 including regular members, special constables, civilian members and Public Service employees.

Ontario Provincial Police. The Ontario Provincial Police, a Crown force, is the third largest deployed force on the North American continent, having a total authorized strength of more

than 5,000 (1972) uniformed and civilian personnel.

The OPP is administered from general headquarters at Toronto by a Commissioner who has the rank and status of a Deputy Minister under the Ministry of the Solicitor General. Other senior executive officers include two Deputy Commissioners and six Assistant Commissioners. The force has two principal sides — Operations and Services — which are administered by the Deputy Commissioner Operations and the Deputy Commissioner Services, respectively. In turn, six divisions at the next level — Field, Traffic, Administration, Staff Services, Special Services, and Personnel — are administered by their respective Assistant Commissioners. Specialized branches under the Special Services Division include Auto Theft, Criminal Investigation, Anti-rackets, Security Intelligence, Criminal Intelligence, Anti-gambling and Liquor Laws Enforcement.

For policing and administration purposes, the province is divided geographically into 17 districts. In the field, there are 186 detachments controlled through 17 district headquarters located at Chatham, London, Burlington, Niagara Falls, Downsview, Mount Forest, Barrie, Peterborough, Belleville, Perth, Long Sault, North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie, South Porcupine, Thunder Bay and Kenora. Twelve municipalities are policed under special

contract.

Under provisions of the Ontario Police Act, the force is responsible for: (1) enforcing federal and provincial statutes in those areas that are not required to maintain their own police department; (2) maintaining a traffic patrol on the more than 10,000 miles of King's Highways and 65,000 miles of secondary county and township roads; (3) enforcing the Liquor Licence Act and the Liquor Control Act for Ontario; (4) maintaining a Criminal Investigation Branch and other specialized branches to assist all other forces in the investigation of major crimes; and (5) assisting other forces by providing additional manpower in the event of emergencies.

Under the Staff Services Division, the Central Records and Communications Branch offers 24-hour seven-day-week service to all police departments in Ontario on such matters as criminal records, fingerprint records, missing and wanted persons, dry cleaning and laundry

mark identification, and stolen and recovered property lists.

The OPP operates one of the largest frequency-modulation radio networks in the world, with 107 fixed radio stations and more than 1,300 radio-equipped mobile units including motorcycles, marine units and aircraft. It also operates the Ontario Provincial Police telecommunications network connecting all 17 districts as well as other police departments on a local, national and international basis. Extensions to routine police service are provided by canine, SCUBA and marine-bush rescue units strategically located throughout the province and available to other law-enforcement agencies upon request.

In addition to regular constable recruitment, the force has a cadet program permitting qualified young men to make a career in a long-established police force. Ranking officers, from inspector up to and including the Commissioner, receive the Queen's Commission in the

same manner as members of the Canadian Armed Forces.

Quebec Police Force. The Quebec Police Force is responsible for order and public safety in the province, and for prevention and investigation of criminal offences and violation of any

provincial law.

The province is divided into two almost equal areas: the Montreal Division and the Quebec Division. The Montreal Division has two subdivisions with headquarters in Hull and Montreal as well as the Estrie District composed of six detachments with headquarters in Sherbrooke; the Quebec Division has two subdivisions with headquarters in Chicoutimi and Quebec City as well as the Lower St. Lawrence District made up of three sections operating 20